“He will give you another Advocate to be with you always”

Today we celebrate Pentecost Sunday, the day the Father sent the Holy Spirit upon us all. This reading is from John 14:15-16,23-26.

Jesus said to his disciples:
“If you love me, you will keep my commandments.
And I will ask the Father,
and he will give you another Advocate to be with you always.

“Whoever loves me will keep my word,
and my Father will love him,
and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him.
Those who do not love me do not keep my words;
yet the word you hear is not mine
but that of the Father who sent me.

“I have told you this while I am with you.
The Advocate, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send in my name,
will teach you everything
and remind you of all that I told you.”

Pope Francis had a beautiful reflection in his celebration of this day. I hope you will read it.

As for me, what I am inspired to reflect on this day is the part of today’s reading that says, “and he will give you another Advocate to be with you always,” and then farther down the page, “The Advocate, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything and remind you of all that I told you.”

Jesus was to ascend into heaven, but God wouldn’t leave us alone and without help. The Father gave us the Holy Spirit as our advocate to be with us always and to guide us. He inspires us, He informs us, He teaches us, He reminds us. Each of us.

Open your self to God through the gift of the Holy Spirit. He is there for you through the love of the Father and the Son. Then open your self to the Father and the Son that they may dwell in you. Then love God with of your heart and all of your mind and all of your soul, and love your neighbor as yourself, for those are the commandments Jesus gave us.

If we all lived by Jesus’ commandments His peace would be with us, all of us. Peace be with you.

Leave a Reply

