“Why are you terrified, O you of little faith?”

A storm had arisen in my life, and then I read today’s reading: Matthew 8:23-27.

As Jesus got into a boat, his disciples followed him.
Suddenly a violent storm came up on the sea,
so that the boat was being swamped by waves;
but he was asleep.
They came and woke him, saying,
“Lord, save us! We are perishing!”
He said to them, “Why are you terrified, O you of little faith?
Then he got up, rebuked the winds and the sea,
and there was great calm.
The men were amazed and said, “What sort of man is this,
whom even the winds and the sea obey?”

Thank you Heavenly Father and Lord Jesus for sharing this reading with me today. My life is in an upheaval lately because our family is preparing for a move; we are coming to the zero hour for moving day, and we are worried we won’t make it. Add to that, our daughter is autistic and has Asperger syndrome and isn’t taking the changes at all well, and we are all on edge. It’s very much like being in a storm at sea. So this reading is very timely for us.

Lord, save us! Maybe we aren’t perishing, but we do feel like we are drowning. We are terrified. “O you of little faith,” I hear Him saying. And then I feel him calming me, reassuring me, making things better.

Correlation isn’t causation, they say. This was today’s reading long before it was decided we were going to move. But God nudged me to read this just now. I’d been busy all day and hadn’t looked up the reading until I needed His help. And there these words were. Perhaps in the long-term scheme of things God knew I’d need His words at this moment. Or perhaps He just knew at this moment His words right now would comfort me. Either way, God works in wonderful ways. And if we trust Him to work in wonderful ways for us, He will.

Thank you Heavenly Father and Lord Jesus for being there for me now. Thank you for nudging me to read today’s reading. And for settling the storm in my soul. I can always count on you.

In moments like these, I recite the Act of Love:
Oh my God, I love you above all things, with my whole heart and soul, because you are all-good and worthy of all love. I love my neighbor as myself for the love of you. I pardon all who have injured me and ask pardon of all whom I have injured. Amen.

Leave a Reply

