“Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit”

We give glory to the Father when we are steadfast in our faith, Jesus tells us in John 15:1-8.

Jesus said to his disciples:
“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vine grower.
He takes away every branch in me that does not bear fruit,
and everyone that does he prunes so that it bears more fruit.
You are already pruned because of the word that I spoke to you.
Remain in me, as I remain in you.
Just as a branch cannot bear fruit on its own
unless it remains on the vine,
so neither can you unless you remain in me.
I am the vine, you are the branches.
Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit,
because without me you can do nothing.
Anyone who does not remain in me
will be thrown out like a branch and wither;
people will gather them and throw them into a fire
and they will be burned.
If you remain in me and my words remain in you,
ask for whatever you want and it will be done for you.
By this is my Father glorified,
that you bear much fruit and become my disciples.”

This reads like a warning to Jesus’ disciples: Stray from me and my teachings, and you will no longer be my disciples. But in truth, it is a message for us all. And it isn’t just about teachings and being disciples. It is about living a truly righteous life and reaching the Kingdom of Heaven. It is also about access to the gifts faith in Jesus gives.

And what does Jesus teach? He certainly teaches us to observe the commandments. But he also teaches us to serve one another, all our neighbors. He also teaches us to put others first. And Jesus teaches us love God and to love one another as the greatest commandments. He often teaches us to trust God and to know that whatever we need, God will provide, if we but ask for it in Jesus’ name. And finally, Jesus asks us to believe that because he died on the cross for us, our sins will be forgiven and because he rose from the dead, we too can rise from the dead and be resurrected into eternal life in heaven. All this – all this – is in the glory of the Father, who loves us.

That’s Jesus final point in this passage, one we often forget in our me-centered culture: All happens to give glory to the Father. We may sing “Glory to God in the highest” during Mass or other services, but is it much more than a formality? “This is my Father glorified,” says Jesus, “that you bear much fruit and become my disciples.” You become His disciples by remaining in Him and Him in you. Stay steadfast in your faith and steadfast to Jesus’ teachings. Be His hands and walk His journey, speak His words and do His works. Give glory to God the Father in your faith. In this way, you will bear much fruit.

Leave a Reply

